My Memories of Seaside Heights New Jersey

Published November 3, 2012 by scenickviewz

 

It’s gone, and will never be the same. Oh the memories of my childhood, days spent running up and down those well worn boards. I can still here the sound in my mind, the only place it exists anymore. Ravaged by Sandy, boards broken and thrown like matchsticks, so many memories gone in an instant. The Ferris wheel where my parents met, still standing as a lone silent sentinel watching over a destructed wasteland. Gone too is the carousel where my father worked in the summers, spinning the ride and grooving out those polka tunes that still speak to me of fun and merriment. Each day in the summer I would go with him, a child’s paradise, all the rides, treats and fun available for the child of one of the guys, that worked behind the scenes to make the magic happen. It is with a sad heart I look upon these images, I have avoided them for long enough. For although the boardwalk may be no more, the memories still live on in my heart and dreams. A magical place, a distant time, the princess that was me ruled over her little kingdom full of lights, merry music and endless forms of delight. My trusty steed, named by me Black Beauty, had left the park years ago, sold off and replaced with a cheap version of what was once fit for a princess. Yet still I hope the fairy tale will begin anew, with rebuilt hopes and dreams of those yet to come. And once again my feet may know the echoing sounds of that special boardwalk ringing under my toes.
♥ Robin ♥

Seaside Heights Boardwalk
Destroyed by Hurricane Sandy. Photo Credit: Jersey Shore Hurricane News

One comment on “My Memories of Seaside Heights New Jersey

  • Leave a Reply

        The Byronic Man

    We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

    Hiking Photography

    Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

    Me and the Boss 2013

    Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

    GYA today

    Give Yourself Away

    Pam Brooks Crump

    WeCan founder

    The Gatekeeper Of The Mind

    Loving Your Mind~Striving For Peace

    SERENDIPITY

    Searching for intelligent life on earth

    smallestforest.wordpress.com/

    Express yourself. It is later than you think.

    Life Out of the Box

    Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

